Screen Readers Skip to Content

Social Security Administration Programs - U.S.

Published: 2009-03-12 - Updated: 2011-03-19
Author: Sarah Lois

Synopsis: U.S. Social Security Administration SSA is an independent agency of the United States federal government responsible for administering social security programs.

Main Digest

Every qualified American worker has in some way or another have dealt with the office of Social Security Administration whether in claiming some benefits like, old age, survivors and disability insurance.

In Other News:

However, despite the constant relationships and transactions in the office, it was found that there are considerable portions of the population who have not known the foundation of the office or has no knowledge about the real import of the office.

This was somewhat ironic, and something to be wary about, as common sense and practice that are issued for each transaction made by the people, we must know whom we are dealing with.

Social Security Administration, Brief History

In an attempt to limit what is considered as hazards of modern life in America, which covers the elderly, poverty, unemployment and the burdens of widows and fatherless children, and to respond to the Great depression after the 1930s, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt (in promotion) waged a measure of implementation of social insurance to address these issues.

With this effort, Franklin Delano Roosevelt drafted the first Social Security, the Social Security Act 1935 (August 14, 1935), ch. 531, 49 Stat. 620. The law was passed through the joint efforts and cooperation of the Roosevelt committee on economic security, under Edwin Witte and the Congress.

U.S. Social Security Administration was created by a law, previously cited as the Social Security Act, cap. 531, 49 Stat. 620 (also known as the Law of old-age pensions) and now codified in 42 USC section 901.

Social Security Administration, Office

U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA) is one of the independent agencies of the United States federal government responsible for administering social security programs throughout the country. The agency has 10 regional offices, 8 processing centers, approximately 1,300 field offices and 37 teleservice centers.

The Social Security Administration is headquartered in Woodlawn, Maryland, the federal government created the only office that has its headquarters outside Washington, the state capital.

Social Security Administration, administered by Benefits

At present, there is increasing debate and controversy over the expansion of Social Security benefits, as well as the operation and administration of these benefits.

However, for informational purposes, the Social Security Administration administers a number of social insurance programs, consisting primarily of Federal old age, survivors, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Health Insurance for Elderly and Disabled (Medicare) and disability insurance.

Federal Old Age

Retirement Insurance Benefits (RIB), also known as the pension scheme of social insurance benefits are paid based on the attainment of old age, ie 62 years or more. To be eligible for this benefit, certain requirements must be met, including the following:

"The applicant must be fully insured under the Social Security system

"the age of 62

"Have applied for benefits or have been automatically converted from Disability Insurance Benefits at full retirement age

The requirements are mainly based on two years and payments made in the Social Security system through payroll taxes.

Survival Insurance Program

Under the Survivor Benefits Program of the Social Security Administration, some members of the family of a worker who dies may be eligible for financial assistance if they meet certain requirements. Of the criteria, the most important part is that the deceased must have earned enough work credits and have paid their Social Security taxes immediately in order for their survivors to qualify for this program.

The family member covered includes the following:

"A widow or widower in relation to the requirements based on their status

"A widow or widower at any age if he or she takes care of the children of the deceased under 16 or disabled, who receives Social Security Survivor Benefits

"unmarried children under the age of 18 years or until age 19 if attending elementary or secondary school (high school) full time

"A child who is disabled prior to reaching 22 years of age and remains disabled

"Under certain circumstances, stepchildren, grandchildren or adopted children

"Dependent parents at age 62 years or more

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Supplemental Security Income (or SSI) is a cash benefit paid by the Social Security Administration for the elderly (who are legally considered 65 years or older), blind or disabled depending on the needs and People who have limited income and limited resources.

For couples or a person or to be eligible to qualify for SSI, must be disabled, blind (20/200 or less in their better eye with glasses or a field of vision of less than 20 degrees) or older ( 65 years or older) and have little or no income and resources. Individuals or couples must also be U.S. citizens. However, there are some exceptions for non-citizens.

Health Insurance for Elderly and Disabled (Medicare)

Medicare is a social insurance program that provides health insurance coverage to persons who are either age 65 or over, or that meet other criteria. The aid program in general with the cost of health care. However, as a note, the program does not cover all medical expenses or the cost of most long-term care.

Medicare has four parts:

"Part A Hospital Insurance

"Part B medical insurance

"Part C Medicare Advantage

"Part D prescription drug coverage

Social Security Disability (SSDI)

Disability Insurance pays benefits from Social Security program means a worker who suffers a disability and also some members of his family, intended to be provided until their condition improves, and is intended to guarantee income if the person the condition is not improving.

To be eligible for this benefit, the person must have the following qualifications:

"He / she must have suffered from a disability under the SSA criteria, ie that has a physical or mental condition that prevents you from doing any substantial gainful work

"If their condition is expected to last at least 12 months or result in death

"That he / she is under the age of 65 years

"That he / she has worked in the past 5 to 10 years

You're reading Disabled World. See our homepage for informative disability news, reviews, sports, stories and how-tos. You can also connect with us on social media such as Twitter and Facebook or learn more about Disabled World on our about us page.

Disclaimer: Disabled World provides general information only. Materials presented are in no way meant to be a substitute for professional medical care by a qualified practitioner, nor should they be construed as such. Any 3rd party offering or advertising on does not constitute endorsement by Disabled World. View our Advertising Policy for further information. Please report outdated or inaccurate information to us.

Cite Page: Journal: Disabled World. Language: English (U.S.). Author: Sarah Lois. Electronic Publication Date: 2009-03-12 - Revised: 2011-03-19. Title: Social Security Administration Programs - U.S., Source: <a href=>Social Security Administration Programs - U.S.</a>. Retrieved 2021-07-26, from - Reference: DW#121-1067.