Screen Readers Skip to Content
Tweet Facebook Buffer

U.P. Book by R.A. Riekki

Author: R.A. Riekki

Published: 2009-04-25

Synopsis and Key Points:

From a bold new novelist comes a complex tale of friendship and brutality in the book U.P. by R.A. Riekki.

Main Digest

U.P. by R.A. Riekki was recently published on Ghost Road Press. The main character in the novel has cerebral palsy.

U.P. by R.A. Riekki was recently published on Ghost Road Press. The main character in the novel has cerebral palsy.

From a bold new novelist comes a complex tale of friendship and brutality. Set in Michigan's Upper Peninsula, U.P. is the story of four teens immersed in an ugly world, one whose threat of violence is always simmering beneath the surface.

U.P. has been Ghost Road Press's bestseller in fiction for the last nine weeks straight and National Book Award winner John Casey nominated the novel for the prestigious Sewanee Writers' Series.

R.A. Riekki's distinctive characters and their poignant quest for freedom is a swan song to lost youth, redefining the traditional coming-of-age story. Four boys, four distinct narratives that converge into a harrowing and heartbreaking whole.

"An exciting new voice. In the tradition of The Wanderers, Trainspotting and other wild rides through male adolescence, Ron Riekki's U.P. gives us an in-the-round look at a tight knit group of "Yoopers." Riekki tells their tale with un-compromised honesty and genuine artistry." --Don De Grazia, author of American Skin,

Born in Marquette, R.A. Riekki has studied writing at Central Michigan, Brandeis, Virginia, and Western Michigan.

Language: English
ISBN-10: 0979625564
ISBN-13: 978-0979625565

U.P. is available at www.amazon.com/u-p-R-Riekki/dp/0979625564

Related Documents


Important:

Disabled World is strictly a news and information website provided for general informational purpose only and does not constitute medical advice. Materials presented are in no way meant to be a substitute for professional medical care by a qualified practitioner, nor should they be construed as such. Any 3rd party offering or advertising on disabled-world.com does not constitute endorsement by Disabled World.

Please report outdated or inaccurate information to us.